COE Launches Legacy Society at 2018 Annual Conference

September 19, 2018

In September 2018, the Council for Opportunity in Education (COE) launched its Legacy Society. Through planned gifts, members of the Legacy Society commit to making an investment in students that will transcend their lifetimes. By becoming a member of the Legacy Society, friends and donors will help ensure the sustained growth of the Council and its work to advance educational opportunity for low-income, first-generation students and students with disabilities.

The Founding Members of the Legacy Society are:

  • Cherryl Arnold of Atlanta, GA
  • Joan Becker of Boston, MA
  • Ann Coles of Boston, MA
  • Oscar Hernandez and Laura Thompson of San Antonio, TX
  • Maureen Hoyler of Washington, DC
  • Arnold and Freda Mitchem of Chevy Chase, MD
  • Deborah Northcross of Memphis, TN
  • Andrea and Archie Reeve of Fort Collins, CO
  • Bruce and Sharyn Schelske of Burnsville, MN
  • Marilyn and Paul Thayer of Fort Collins, CO

Additionally, at Council for Opportunity in Education's 37th Annual Conference in New York City, TRIO alumnus Barry Cosgrove, founder of DaVita and co-owner of Blackmore Escrow, pledged a $1 million dollar gift, in part, to establish the Marian Cosgrove Fund, in honor of his mother. For more information about the Legacy Society, including ways you can participate, please contact Alvin Phillips either via e-mail at ( or phone at (202) 347-7430.